Mogadishu Somalia History

Mogadishu has for many years been known as the land of the Berbers, which is a medieval Arabic term for the Somali coast. Although competing Somali clans have lived in the region for thousands of years, Somalia only became a country in 1960, when Italy and Britain merged their Somali colonies into a single Somali state. Hopes for a unified Somali state were dashed, however, when the United Nations granted Italy the right to maintain its protectorate over Britain, dividing the regions. The origins of Somalia's founding ethnicity and the history of its statehood were the subject of serious intrigue in Somali Studies.

Less than a decade later, a military group led by Major General Muhammad Siad Barre seized power and declared Somalia a socialist state. After the war, the British tried to introduce democracy and numerous indigenous Somali parties emerged, the first being the Somali Youth League (SYL) in 1945. Less than five years after the end of World War II, however, numerous ethnic and religious groups, such as Al-Shabaab and the Somali Islamic Movement (IMS), fought for independence from Britain in the 1960s and 1970s. More than 2,000 years ago, during the civil war in Somalia, numerous indigenous Somali parties emerged under the leadership of the leaders of the Somali National Congress (SNC).

Starting as a loose grouping of Sharia courts, the ICU quickly evolved into a powerful Islamic militia that controlled large swathes of southern Somalia until 2006. Somali government and a plan to form a moderate Islamist government in Somalia, which has had considerable support from Somalis and the international community. Somalia waived its claims to Somali-populated regions in Ethiopia and Kenya, and improved its relations with both countries considerably.

The SSF merged on 5 October 1981 to form the Democratic Front for the Salvation of Somalia (DFSS), and the IGADD was founded in Djibouti in January 1986. In 2002, the south-west of Somalia, which consisted of the Jubbada, declared itself autonomous and joined the ICU.

The Second World War made the situation more difficult, as Italy forcibly took over Eritrea, Ethiopia and Somalia (then known as Italian East Africa), which surrounded British, French and Somali territory. Then came the Ethiopian Emperor Menelik II, who successfully avoided occupying his own country, but planned to invade Somalia again. Britain already controlled the north - west of Somalia, from the border with Ethiopia to the south - to the east, and wanted to control its counterpart in Berbera on the Somali side.

After independence, Somalia tried to reunite the three main Somali groups trapped between them. When Somalia was united in 1959, Somalis living in Kenya, Ethiopia, and Djibouti were the only British, Italians, and Somaliland to create a new Somalia, and they were responsible for the majority of the country's population. Somali - inhabited parts of Kenya and Ethiopia, as well as the Somali population of Somalia and Eritrea together make up the largest population in the world, with around 1.5 million people. After independence, Somalia had hoped to be reunited with three large Somali groups trapped in three different countries: Eritrea, Ethiopia, and Somali East Africa, but also Somalia's northern - western - southern - eastern - central - regions.

France, Britain, and Somaliland were completely surrounded by Italian Eritrea, Somalia, and Ethiopia, now collectively known as Italian East Africa. There is Ogaden, which is located in the coastal area of Somalia, where the Italians were active, as well as the northern parts of Ethiopia and Kenya.

The most notable entity to emerge after the dissolution of the Somali government is the Republic of Somaliland. Somali Nation - Land is not considered unified, but divided into ethnic Somali peoples artificially and arbitrarily divided by former colonial powers. The south of Somalia is homogeneous, while the north of Somalia is also known as "northern Somalia" or "Somaliland," which consists of southern Somalia, which is mainly inhabited by people from the Issaq clan or, some might say, the "Mogadishu clan." Somali nations and countries are absent and could be united, are seen not only as different, but also as different ethnic groups.

Somaliland is known as "British Somaliland," while the southern region is "Italian Somaliland" and Djibouti is controlled by France, both of which have roots in colonial history with similar names. The Italian Someliland was abdicated by Somalia, but Britain withdrew from the country, which made Britain a protectorate and joined the country and formed a new nation, Somalia. Somalia's name became known as British som aliland, while djibert, a former British colony in the Indian Ocean, became known by a similar name French som aliland. Somali government, as well as the government of the Republic of Somaliya, it is now known britishSomalililand due to its proximity to Britain.

In the late 19th century, Britain colonized what would become Somalia, and in the early 20th and early 21st centuries. Mogadishu became the capital of independent Somalia after the independence of the country, which included Italy, Portugal and Great Britain. In the mid-19th century, Mog Somalia became the capital of an independent Somalia, followed by a number of countries, including Portugal, Great Britain, and Italy, with the exception of Djibouti, southern Somalia, and the northern half of Italian Somaliland. Somali capital, but later it became a city - state and then a city of its own, after a series of independence efforts by countries such as Portugal, England, Spain, France, Italy and Portugal.

More About Mogadishu

More About Mogadishu